Sunday, February 3, 2013

NFL Awards

Last night the most prestigious awards were announced. Adrian Peterson won two of the most amazing awards in NFL history. Peterson won the Most Valuable Player(MVP) Award and the AP Offensive Player of the Year. This season he rushed for 2,097 yards, 9 yards short of Eric Dickerson's single season rushing record. Peterson edged out (QB) Peyton Manning for the MVP Award. Manning did win the Comeback Player of the Year. Peyton didn't play all of last season, and led the Denver Broncos to a 13-3 record. Adrian Peterson tore his ACL and MCL in Week 16 in the 2011 season. Few people expected Peterson to come off of this injury, and did. Peterson turned this team around from a 3-13 2011 season to a 10-6 2012 season. Bruce Arians won the AP Coach of the Year Award. Chuck Pagano wasn't coaching for most of the season, in his battle with Leukemia. Arians led the Colts into the playoffs. Pagano made it back to coach for the Colts in the last few weeks in the regular season, and coached their only playoff game this season. Robert Griffin III won the Rookie of the Year Award, leading the Washington Redskins into the playoffs. Robert beat the other rookie quarterbacks, Russel Wilson and Andrew Luck. Luck received 11 votes and Wilson received 10 votes. Griffin III isn't going to play for while after tearing several ligaments in his knee. He had surgery last month. J.J. Watt won the AP Defensive Player of the Year Award, receiving 49 out of 50 votes. He was the season sack's leader with 20.5. I think he is going to have a great season next year. The Defensive Rookie of the Year Award was given to Carolina Panthers player, Luke Kuechly. Now there is only one award left, Super Bowl MVP. Who do you think is going to win Super Bowl MVP? Post in the comments! By Ameen I.

1 comment:

  1. Happy to see that two class men were the recipients of these awards.....the winners could have been flip flopped and it would have still been proper....the main thing, in my view, is they were each acknowledged for their efforts!